I’m not sure if either number is accurate but it’s the best I could up with on short notice. For the purposes of this blog, it really doesn’t matter. Forget I said anything.

On a recent trip to Baton Rouge I had some time to go exploring. Last year I went east. This year I went west. And east. Breaux Bridge, Crawfish Capital of the World, is a small town about 50 miles west of Baton Rouge, named for the footbridge built by Firmin Breaux in 1799. Firmin Breaux was one of the largest land owners in the area at the time.

What it’s really about is the antiques. I didn’t have time to try any of the local eateries or entertainment venues. I am a man on a mission. I’m not sure why, but I am.

What did I find? You’ve already seen some of it. There was this A. R. Brown octagonal cabinet:

I've shared this cabinet before.

I’ve shared this cabinet before.

At the same shop was this unusual reversing church pew:

I assume it's a church pew.

I assume it’s a church pew.

But why reversing. I have seen this feature on trolleys and streetcars. I have seen some colonial era churches that had pulpits at either end. Flip the back to become a kneeler?

It reverses.

It reverses. Nice brass work.

While we are touching on religion, I helped someone find Jesus.

Head of Christ, Warner Sallman, 1941. With glitter.

Head of Christ, Warner Sallman, 1941. With glitter. Print. 1 of 500,000,000. (Publisher’s estimate) Frame is unique.

This person expressed interest when a similar print was seen in the background in another blog. Some fond (?) elementary school memories if I recall. I e-mailed them a picture and they stated they wanted it. Image was $18. Shipping was $60.

I hope their intentions are honorable.

I don't know much here but they claim it's German.

I don’t know much here but they claim it’s German.

This is claimed to be antique and English.

This is claimed to be antique and English. More pictures on Flickr.

I do know where this piece originated:

I liked it but not enough to buy and ship it.

I liked it but not enough to buy and ship it.

I don't understand why, but I like finding labels.

I don’t understand why, but I like finding labels. A phone number but no area code.

Click HERE to see these and more from my visit to Breaux Bridge.