With all the chatter about workbenches in the past few weeks, I would be remiss in not sharing my recent finds. One was at last an auction last week. The other, more curiously. at the local high-end antiques shop.

First is this well used specimen claimed to be from the early 19th century. It is a nice long bench.

Long and loaded for auction.

Long and loaded for auction.

It has a front apron for supporting long boards.

With properly spaced holes.

With properly spaced holes. The auction was also selling a miniature anvil and plumb bob collection.

A leg vise.

IMG_6397

Gratuitious close up.

Gratuitous close up.

Different bench stop:

IMG_6400

Alternate view.

Alternate view.

A few views from below:

From the right.

From the right.

From the left.

From the left.

View from below of the bench stop.

View from below of the bench stop.

The front half of this bench is 3″ laminated boards and the back half is a 4/4 board.

Similar to a bench I found in January.

Similar to a bench I found in January.

The other bench is a an antiques dealer. I see these benches and always wonder if they were a worker’s bench or a gentleman’s bench?

IMG_6509

Worker or dilletante?

Worker or dilettante?

IMG_6510

Tail vise.

Shoulder vise.

Shoulder vise.

Bench is made (or marketed) by Selle.

I couldn't find anything one Selle on a quick search. Let me know if you know anything, I don't.

I couldn’t find anything on Selle after a quick search. Let me know if you know something, I don’t.

And like most benches, it has legs:

with through tenons and wedges.

with through tenons and wedges.

This one reminds me of some Hammacher Schlemmer benches I’ve seen. Fairly close to a generic workbench. Only $2600, planes not included.