Tonight was the monthly Triangle Woodworkers Association meeting. It is about 40 miles away over in Raleigh. Rush hour traffic being what it is, I am far better off heading that way by 3:30 PM or so. There are three of four place en route that come to a complete stop between 4:00 and 6:30 PM.

What to do in Raleigh until the meeting starts at 7:00 PM?. I can only spend about half an hour at Woodcraft. I’m running out of things to buy there. My shop’s not that big. The meeting is at the Klingspor Woodworking Shop so I don’t need to spend that much more time there. Leaving home I discovered both headlights were burned out so I spent fifteen minutes at Auto Zone waiting to pay for two H7 light bulbs.

I had heard rumors  that there were some antique shops there and I set out to see if it is true.

Turns out that there are several. And at one of them I found something quite remarkable. Not as old as much of the furniture I admire but still rather unique.

I have never seen what I might call a rotating secretary before.

Looks like a large rotating bookcase.

Looks like a large rotating bookcase.

But it is also a secretary.

But it is also a secretary.

With a desk and gallery up top.

With a writing desk and gallery up top.

and more storage below.

and more storage below.

Interesting decoration of some external panels.

Interesting decoration of some external panels.

that's carried onto some of the internal shelves.

that’s carried onto some of the internal shelves.

The external frame stands over 5 feet tall and about 30″ across.  It all sits on this engineered base:

Not pretty but very functional.

Not pretty but very functional.

This wonderful piece is still in the shop since I don’t have a spare $1895 and a place to display it. In the past two weeks I acquired a second and third Thomas Day game table so it is better politically that I not bring home any more stray furniture for a while.

My second and third Thomas Day gaming tables, circa 1845-1850.

My second and third Thomas Day gaming tables, circa 1845-1850.

I did pick up a late 19th century burl ballot box from Vermont at an auction. That’s another story for another day…