I watch all the woodworking show carried on the local public television affiliate. Something to distract me while I’m washing dishes. My wife likes to cook and under the terms of our unspoken marriage contract, she cooks and I do the dishes. It works out well in that she is much better at cooking and I am much better at washing dishes. Downside is that she enjoys cooking much more that I enjoy doing dishes. Who said life is fair?

Don and his dynamic team at Woodsmith recently had another project that caught my eye. It is their Tambour Tool Cabinet.

Front view with the tambour door open.

Front view with the tambour door open.

And closed.

And closed.

I actually like the aesthetics. Could be an interesting project with the tambour door, the beaded drawers and campaign-like hardware. Not historically inspired or dovetailed but a useful and challenging project. Reasons for not building it include not needing a wall mounted tool cabinet and the notion that you can store more tools if the cabinet has conventional doors as with the Studely tool cabinet.

More storage with a door. Not that I am comparing the two...

More storage with a door. Not that I am comparing the two…

Or Chuck Bender's slightly more modest offering.

Or Chuck Bender’s slightly more modest offering. Still useful.

A few weeks back in an example of art imitating life, I ran across an old Stanley tool chest with a tambour door at a local auction:

It's a Stanley.

It’s a Stanley. Fewer drawers.

Closed door conceals the drawer.

Closed door conceals the drawer.

Interestingly, there is no false back concealing the tambour door.

Interestingly, there is no false back concealing the tambour door when open.

Saturday, at the MWTCA meeting in Raleigh, I came across a similar cabinet selling for $325. I talked to the dealer and, as I thought, it was the same cabinet. He bought it, I didn’t.

As I was standing there contemplating the financial and political cost of taking it home, a collector came up and expressed an interest in buying it. Much to his and the dealer’s surprise, I did my best to encourage him to buy it. And I succeeded. He negotiated down to $310 and took it home. He bought it so I didn’t have to.  A win-win situation. Saved from myself again!