Believe it or not, I don’t usually buy things when I am out on the road. If I did, I could neither walk into my house or pay for it. Not to mention the whole wife issue. My wife doesn’t read this blog so we can talk candidly. This trip is different in that I am finding things that need to go home with me.

First is this blasting caps box I found in Beckley, WV.

Front view. The lid/door has shrunk a bit.

Front view. The lid/door has shrunk a bit.

Here is a view with the lid removed.

I believe the dovetail keyway above the door is for a sliding lock.

I believe the dovetail slot above the door is for a sliding lock.

Rear view.

Rear view.

The box is pegged and in need of some repair. It is just the kind of primitive box that appeals to me. A lot. I need to reproduce this one some day soon. As soon as time and politics allow.

I found two similar boxes in expired eBay listings. Click on the image to see the listing.

A taller, more elegant relative.

A taller, more elegant relative.

This one is similar to mine.

This one is similar to mine.

Next, I was wandering through a huge antiques mall east of Kansas City and seeing nothing of interest. Everything there was the definition of mundane or barely vintage.

Then I turned the corner and found my new best friend.

It looks familiar but for $2000 less.

It looks familiar but for $2000 less.

If you remember, I found this one in Raleigh for $2400:

I didn't buy this one.

I didn’t buy this one.

And the view closed:

Mine.

Mine.

Not mine but burled.

Not mine but burled.

And made by:

I found listings for this company going back to at least 1853.

This company was in business until destroyed during the London Blitz in 1941. Samuel Mordan, Sr. was co-inventor of the mechanical pencil.

I found an article about them HERE.

Not mine.

Not mine.

One does wonder if these boxes came from the same shop, they just affixed their “labels”.

A few more pictures of the new one. This box is actually a registered inkstand and copy press as this label states:

Read and learn. Sounds like magic to me.

Read and learn. Sounds like magic to me.

Here is the press drawer:

Pressure was applied using the brass T-handled screw in the center of the upper section.

Pressure was applied using the brass T-handled screw in the center of the upper section. It bears down onto the brass socket in the center of the drawer.

I found this label on the bottom of the pencil tray:

In business going back to at least 1853.

In business going back to at least 1853.

Last thing I have found in my car was this oiler:

Finally my own oiler. Every child wants one one.

Finally my own oiler. Every child wants one.

I not sure what I am going to do with it. I think I will paint it white with a good enamel and then add either miniature red roses or blue pansies. Maybe a poll before I start.

For the tourist, I did visit the National World War I Museum before leaving Kansas City.

It was a beautiful day.

It was a beautiful day.