Some  of you might be starting to believe that I am a bit odd. See things differently. I like to think that I exist somewhere in the less populated areas of the Bell curve. This is good. If we agree on everything one of us isn’t necessary.

I was plotting my drive home to North Carolina after Woodworking in America, looking for a different route with unfamiliar antiques shop and museums. Looking at the map (Well, Google maps), I saw I could head down to Springfield, MO on my way to Nashville and home. This appealed to me because I was interested in visiting the Grizzly Industrial Showroom, #5 of 13 for shopping in Springfield according to Trip Advisor.

I have no personal interest in Grizzly. I would say I am more curious than interested. I don’t need any more shop machinery, that I know of. I am a little concerned about the price point of Grizzly tools but people I know that have them love them. Like a walk through IKEA, entertaining with virtually no risk of taking anything home. Well, maybe something from the Marketplace…

I got there Monday morning and realized driving up the place is huge. Like, really big. I walked in and this is the first tools that caught my eye:

Kind of grisly.

Kind of grisly.

But at a really great price point. You can always wait for a sale.

But at a really great price point. You can always wait for a sale.

Stainless inside and out. Hoses off well.

Stainless inside and out. Hoses off well.

They have another saw in green:

Sliding table.

Sliding table.

My Rikon doesn't have a sausage grinder.

My Rikon doesn’t have a sausage grinder.

Looks like they are trying to go after the Stewart-MacDonald market:

Guitar parts and kits galore.

Guitar parts and kits galore.

And violins, too.

And violins, too.

Displays of woodworking done using Grizzly tools:

Turnings

Turnings

by a turner.

by a turner.

Marquetry (marqueterie)

Marquetry (marqueterie)

What showroom would be complete without furniture?

Table AND chairs.

Table AND chairs.

Woodcraft doesn’t have a koi pond.

Not as big as the Bass Pro Shop.

Not as big as the Bass Pro Shop.

Here’s another tool Roy will never use:

Roy doesn't have three phase.

Roy doesn’t have three-phase for this giant milling machine.

Their restrooms are multi-purpose.

Women's room, too.

Women’s room, too.

A storeroom for disinterested spouses:

Male or female can make themselves at home.

Male or female can make themselves at home.

Hand tools under glass:

Stanley Bailey and Sweetheart  planes, Footprint saws.

Stanley Bailey and Sweetheart planes, Footprint saws.

Various making and cutting tools

Various marking and cutting tools

A scratch and dent area.

I brought the wrong truck.

I brought the wrong truck.

And benches, lots of benches.

IMG_8497

Nice legs.

Nice legs.

IMG_8497

IMG_8501

IMG_8500

IMG_8499

IMG_8498

It was fun but I had other place to be.