I drove through West Virginia on the way to Kansas City for Woodworking in America. Paying $6.00 to drive through West Virginia bothers me until I consider what the PA Turnpike costs from end to end.

As I do from time to time, I found an antiques mall and spent some time wandering through for my continuing quest to find the most interesting thing I’ve ever seen. If I ever find it, what to I do the next day?

I didn’t find it but this is where I found my friend, the blasting caps box:

We all know this box. More on this one coming soon.

We all know this box. More on this coming soon. Yes, there’s more.

I was tempted to buy the Angry Hummel:

I'm Gonna Git You Sucka

I’m Gonna Git You Sucka. With my flowers and umbrella…

Interesting to think there was a need/desire to make Hummel knockoffs.

More interestingly, there was this cupboard/press:

Cupboard or press, you decide.

Cupboard or press, you decide.

The third known (to me) example of angled door edges being used to hide the gap.

Angled, really. Trust me.

Angled, really. Trust me. That’s my foot. I was wearing brown shoes.

You can check the archive for the other two examples.

A French draw-leaf table in the heart of West Virginia:

Lots more of these coming soon.

Lots more of these coming soon.

And this painted German-like chest:

I figure there must have been Germans in West Virginia.

I figure there must have been Germans in West Virginia.

Aside from the dovetails, there is an interesting hinge:

I've seen this hinge before. I need to check the archives.

I’ve seen this hinge before. I need to check the archives.

The rest of the antiques from the Switzerland of America are HERE.