There is an auction house about 90 minutes from my house. They have two auctions a month most months. One tends to be a bit ordinary while the other is nearly extraordinary. Problem is that it is 90 minutes away. Driving there, taking pictures and driving back will take up most of a day.Even I have other things to do and can only make it a few times a year.

I made it out there in July and was not disappointed. It was such a big auction that I broke it up into two sets. The preview of the first set starts with a secret compartment in this desk:

Another dang slant front desk.

Another dang slant front desk.

The prospect slides out revealing some secret storage:

Haven't done secret compartments for a while.

Haven’t shown secret compartments for a while. It’s time.

With two drawers and a niche:

Might have been three drawers once. I can't tell.

Might have been three drawers once. I can’t tell.

This desk has no prospect:

Still a nice desk.

Still a nice desk.

A prospect door but empty behind it:

Might have been but there are isn't now.

Might have been but there isn’t now.

A small ordinary seeming wall box:

I'm sure you all have a few of these.

I’m sure you all have a few of these.

What you don’t have is this kind of hinge:

I'm not sure where you buy these.

I’m not sure where you buy these.

There was a slightly wild bracket foot:

Not shown in any book I own.

Not shown in any book I own.

Bellflowers of a different style:

Familiar but exotic.

Familiar but exotic.

And a 150 year old pocket screw.

Before Kreg.

Before Kreg.

To see the rest of Part One, click HERE.