As you might have read, I’ve recently been to South Africa with stops in Zürich and Munich to break up the time locked in overstuffed aluminum tubes. Jumping off one eight-hour flight to get on another one has never been fun and with age even less so. Since we don’t have to, we don’t.

We stopped for three nights in Zürich (Switzerland) on the way out. An amazing and expensive city. My wife did a fantastic job of planning and found us a hotel in the middle of most things interesting at a price that was only slightly scary. We’ve paid more for less.

On day two we visited the Swiss National Museum located just on the far side of the train station from the hotel. I was very pleased we went. Lots of furniture and various other woodworking endeavors on display. There is, of course, religious art:

I assume it's religious.

I assume it’s religious.

16th century dovetails:

Don't often get to see them in museums. They are always there, just out of sight.

Don’t often get to see them in museums. They’re always there, just out of sight.

I haven’t had time to sort out all the pictures from all stops yet. Aside from the furniture there be animals, too:

Can't do that with an iPhone. You can, but you shouldn't.

Can’t do that with an iPhone. You can, but you shouldn’t. Not at the Swiss Museum.

I like using real cameras from time to time.

To get things started, the museum had a display with four period living rooms from 1895 to 1978:

This is what 1895 looked like for some.

This is what 1895 looked like for some.

Most aesthetically appealing to me was the 1927 room:

Was this the precursor of Danish Modern?

Was this the precursor of Danish Modern?

The the evolution(?) to 1958 style:

I really like the woodgrained TV.

I really like the wood grained TV.

Nobody can explain to me late 1970’s furniture. And I lived through it.

Why?

Why?

There will be lots more to come in the next few weeks. I am so backed up on furniture pics. I still have all the furniture from the Met in New York, Bayou Bend in Houston, St. Louis Art Museum and tons of auctions.

More when the laundry is done.