By that I mean Toys For Tots. 2014 was my first year hosting a workshop for the worthwhile charity. (Last year’s blog is HERE.) We do this under the auspices of the Triangle Woodworkers Association with labor provided by my friends at the Hillsborough-Orange Woodworkers.

We built toys again this year. I just finished the last toy about an hour ag0. I don’t have to deliver them until tonight at 6:30. This year we had a somewhat truncated workshop schedule. Last year we had a few work sessions on Saturdays. This year we celebrated my wife’s brief and unsuccessful attempt at retirement and were not home most weekends from September on. There was a mini session last Tuesday and three Monday night sessions. I ended up doing much of the work myself. This is not to minimize the contribution of others. I couldn’t have done it without them.

This is what a workshop looks like.

This is what a workshop looks like.

This is what it looks like when they go home.

This is what it looks like when they go home.

Cutoff and a bandsaw blade that died interestingly.

Cutoffs and a bandsaw blade that died interestingly. Off to the Solid Waste Convenience Center. All recyclable.

And this is the fruit of our labors:

There's more. This is what fit on the tables and cart.

There’s more. This is what fit on the tables and cart.

Dramatic low angle view.

Dramatic low angle view.

The hippos and the bulldozers are the same as last year. To keep it interesting for us, I came up with two new piece. I handed Ed Brant a picture from a folk art museum, a quadrille pad and a 7″ block of 2X4 and he came up with this:

Behold the pig. Or some say a bear.

Behold the pig. Or some say a bear.

I came up with the truck that is loosely based on a small toy I found at a craft shop:

The original was almost one inch long. Mine is bigger.

The original was almost one inch long. Mine is bigger.

Mistakes were made:

Top one got turned around. Still works as a truck

Top one got turned around. Still works as a truck.

I would like to thank the TWA/HOW members who participated in one or more workshops.

Jerome Bias
Ed Brant
Jim Campbell
Matt Holway
Paul Leslie
Jeff Leimberger*
Ed Mastin*
Tina Mastin
Michael Mathews
Dan Roscigno
Dan Snyder

* Members of TWA and HOW

Here is another view of all working.

The dust is real, not an effect.

The dust is real, not an effect.

Next year…