I am not a tool collector yet I am amassing a tool collection. I won’t mention the “users” sitting in the shop collecting dust. I do clean them from time to time and contemplate which upcoming project will require that particular odd molding plane.

Not collectibles, users.

This one is a collectible. I could have happily lived without it. I bought it from an antiques dealer in Stellenbosch, South Africa. The dealer was very friendly. She gave me a book on South African furniture and the run of the shop. I was standing there admiring the tool, politely, when my wife came up and encouraged me to buy it. Then the dealer offered me a substantial discount because she knew I liked it.

Trapped, I took the only way out and bought it. That being said, I don’t regret buying it. I just wish I had a say in it. It is a very interesting tool.

Speculation is that is a veneer cutting gauge.

Speculation is that is a veneer cutting gauge.

I believe it is shop built and not a commercial product. It has no makers marks but it does have all the appropriate layout lines:

Some on this side.

Some on this side.

And more on the other.

And more on the other.

For a better view...

For a better view…

The profile is interesting. They thinned it and rounded it before installing the mortise:

Or just flattened a curved block of wood.

Or just flattened a curved block of wood.

Blade is interesting, too. Marked Sheffield 865. Is it a stock piece made by Sheffield or just made from another tool?

Catalog item or repurposed steel?

Catalog item or repurposed steel? Teeth need a bit of work.

I found this tool in a shop south near Bear, Delaware. With neither my wife nor a substantial discount in sight, I passed.

You can't buy 'em all.

You can’t buy ’em all.