We went to South Africa for the culture, wine and wild animals but I managed to sneak in some quality antiquing time. I have shown you two tools I bought but there was a lot more I didn’t buy. We had weight limits on our checked bags and shipping home would be a killer.

And I have a lot of stuff already. Not that that’s stopped me…

We found an antiques warehouse in Stellenbosch that was big even by my standards. They had lots of furniture that was the same but different. Being filled with the British, it had campaign furniture:

Real campaign furniture, not Henredon or Baker.

Real campaign furniture, not Henredon or Baker.

One of the iconic pieces of Cape furniture is the riempiesbank, a wooden bench with leather thongs:

The name is derived from leather thin leather strips plaited to form a riempies seat. The riempies seat is peculiar to Cape furniture.

The name is derived from leather thin leather strips plaited to form a riempies seat. The riempies seat is peculiar to Cape furniture.

The Cape area is full of light furniture with dark legs like this table:

Typical table found in the area.

Typical table found in the area.

Similar contrasting woods on other furniture, too.

Similar contrasting woods on other furniture, too.

And on this armoire.

And on this handsome armoire.

This desk and another like it were featured in a previous blog:

I've only seen these in the Stellenbosch area.

I’ve only seen these in the Stellenbosch area.

There is also some more contemporary furniture like this Thonet daybed:

That Thornet really got around.

That Thonet really got around.

There is also some mid-century modern furniture, workbenches and tools. Something for everyone.

To see all 86 pictures from the Stellenbosch antiques warehouse, click HERE.