I’m sitting in a hotel room north of Baltimore as I write this. I lived in the Baltimore area for about 20 years so this is like coming home without the cats and wife. I’m here to deliver these two cabinets:

I finally finished two.

I finally finished two.

You might (or might not) remember these from Hi, I’m Don and One of My Least Favorite Words Has Its Uses. To recap, for reasons best explained as OCD, I built six cabinets like this in three different sizes. These are based on a cabinet from the Woodsmith public TV series. Saying I built them is slightly misleading. Six of these exist in various states of completion. Well, I did actually finish these two. After all, I’m delivering them.

I wasn’t expecting to build six when I started. It just happened. I built them from white and yellow pine for budgetary reasons. These cabinets take close to 30 board feet of lumber. The construction grade pine came in for less than a dollar per board foot. Poplar, oak or maple would have come in at $3 to $4 per board foot. I wasn’t expecting to finish any of them. I blew only about $160 vs. $720 if I had used real wood.

These two turned out better than I thought they would considering I was using them for examples and prototypes. I almost regret the pine. The ones others built using poplar and oak were much more attractive. It is what it is.

The hardware might have been a better idea than reality as well. I don’t know about you but if I spend too much time on a project, I lose objectivity. I lose touch with the aesthetic aspects of the project and become fixated on the technical.

I am delivering them to some younger friends that just bought a house and don’t have much in the way of furniture. My hope is these cabinets end up in the shop or garage. Not any place with adequate lighting and moderate to high foot traffic. Some day I’ll prove I can do better work.

While here, I will also be visiting Glen Huey and Chuck Bender from 360 Woodworking. They are in town for The Woodworking Show at the fairgrounds. They are stuck in their booth and can’t run away.

Driving home Sunday, I will pick up what I believe is my fifth Thomas Day game table. It might be my sixth. I have one that is still of uncertain ancestry. My wife doesn’t read my blog. I’m safe for now.

My second and third Thomas Day game tables.

My second and third Thomas Day game tables.

I know where there are four more but the dealers want more money than I am willing to pay.