Today we feature pulls/knobs of wood.All that brass stuff will come later. I might do porcelain pulls if I can find more than four.

Lots of variations in this set. A unique knob is this one that looks like it has an applied medallion:

I believe the medallion is applied. I wonder if it is original?

I believe the medallion is applied. I wonder if it is original?

This one of a kind pull (well, at least two of a kind) is on this dresser:

Different knobs on diffferent levels.

Different knobs on different levels. I don’t think those casters would work well on shag carpeting.

What makes this one interesting is the fact that it is obviously a replacement pull:

A replacement but maybe closer to the original.

A replacement but maybe closer to the original.

It is common for people to have replaced the hardware on their furniture. Styles change and it is was relatively inexpensive way to keep up with the latest fashion. Usually I see a single screw knob being replaced with some form of bail pull. Like this:

The typical evolution of hardware, from knob to bail pull.

The typical evolution of hardware, from knob to bail pull.

Was the knob installed as part of a restoration or just personal preference? Looking at shops and auctions , I wonder if any of the hardware is original. I observed at one auction that a collector had replaced most of his/her hardware with the same low-end pulls. It doesn’t make sense, but as been established, i am not a collector.

Finally in this preview are these unremarkable knobs:

Nothing out of the ordinary.

Nothing out of the ordinary.

They are from this mid-19th century American Stepback Flatwall Cupboard:

Recently auctioned. I didn't buy it. Or even bid.

Recently auctioned. I didn’t buy it. Or even bid.

What interests me is the pattern of holes around the pulls.

Another look

Another look

What was there? There is the same pattern around the doors on the lower section. Was there some form of hasp or other locking mechanism? Was it original? Are these knobs part of a restoration?

Who knows. Is a puzzlement. To see the set (or Album as Flickr calls it), click HERE.