Our trip north for Easter allowed me to visit my favorite settles at an antiques shop in Chadds Ford, PA. This shop has an excellent collection of better antiques. Not the over the top expensive trophies but good, quality corner cabinets, chests, seating and much of the furniture I covet.

This visit gave me a chance to examine one of the most intriguing settles of which I am aware. It was finally moved to a location where I could almost photograph it. It looks something like this:

A very tall settle.

A very tall settle. Notice the asymmetry.

What makes it more interesting than most is the reverse side:

You can't really call it the back.

You can’t really call it the back.

This is the first and only cupboard/settle I’ve ever seen. Not exactly in the Crate & Barrel catalog.

A few more detail pictures to give you a feel for this settle:

Curved molding around the top.

Curved molding around the top.

A view of the seat.

A view of the seat.

The notched side:

Makes me wonder if this settle lived  under a set of stairs.

Makes me wonder if this settle lived under a set of stairs.

There is also this more conventional settle:

If there is a conventional settle. Decorated for another holiday.

If there is a conventional settle. Decorated for another holiday.

Handsome from this angle as well.

Handsome from this angle as well.

And a top view:

If there are dovetails, I will find them...

If there are dovetails, I will find them…

There is other seating there that is not settles, like this church-like pew:

Pew or bench? You decide.

Pew or bench? You decide.

Another antique birdcage chair:

Still fairly rare.

Still fairly rare.

With  its through mortise and tenon joint.

With its through mortise and tenon joint.

And for all you anarchists:

Just like in the book.

Just like in the book.

I’m not just sure which book…