Back in October of 2013, driving back from Woodworking in America, I stopped at an antiques mall on the east side of Cincinnati. Two thirds of the mall’s merchandise was close to what we can politely call flea market grade. Maybe a little better, but not much.

Being the ever-intrepid explorer, I continued exploring where a lesser person (a more rational person?) might have moved on. Up a ramp in the back I discovered a room full of high-end antiques. I was confused but got over it and set to work exploring them. I wrote about the visit in a January 2014 blog entitled Secrets of Cincinnati Revealed.

There was this desk:

A nice desk.

A nice desk.

With this gallery:

Nice gallery.

Nice gallery.

With this pullout prospect:

Didn't see that coming.

Didn’t see that coming.

And hidden drawers around back:

I like drawers.

Nice drawers though the pulls are a bit primitive. But original.

While in the area back in March of this year, I had scheduled some time to explore. I drove around a bit checking some new and different dealers. Then I drove up on an old and familiar place. I had forgotten the name and address of the shop but the sight of the store brought it all back to me. I wandered through knowing all would be well once I got back to the back room.

I got to the back room and all was gone. The good stuff had been replaced by some vintage mid-century modern items. I looked around a bit more in vain. It was all gone.

After a few moments of doubt and indecision, I walked up to the counter to ask if they knew where it all went. I had my doubts not knowing when and under what terms the dealer left and how the lady at the desk felt about it. I got to the desk and asked about the furniture that had been up the ramp. The lady looked at me, smiled and said something to the effect of “Oh, you’re looking for the good furniture.” Then she told me why they left and where they left to. At least the polite version.

I drove over there and found them around back exactly where she said they would be. I walked in and was treated to a great selection of quality antiques and friendly dealers. We talked a bit. They went back to their business and went about mine.

I saw a few pieces left over from their previous location like this book shelf on desk:

I has a new home. I would buy it if I had the cash, a truck and a place to put it.

It has a new home. I would buy it if I had the cash, a truck and a place to put it.

WIth fancy dovetailed bracket feet.

With fancy dovetailed bracket feet.

A nice chest on chest:

Above average.

Above average.

And this table:

A bit splayed but it's a look.

A bit splayed but it’s a look.

And lots of new stuff:

New for an antique.

New for an antique.

And two sewing tables:

With a fabric sewing drawer.

With a fabric sewing drawer.

Or a hard sewing drawer.

Or a hard sewing drawer.

To see all 108 photos, click HERE.