I found myself in Norcross, GA on Friday morning listening to Ron Herman’s nth recitation of his Understanding Wood lecture of the year. I drove down to the Atlanta area the night before for my second and last visit to The Woodworking Shows for 2016. It was a chance to see Glen and Chuck again, visit Highland Woodworking, a big new Rockler store and a reasonable Woodcraft. Also in Norcross, I can see the Peachtree Woodworking Supply’s large area on the show floor and drive over to their retail store as well. They are getting better but don’t hold out for Lie-Nielsen just yet.

Prof. Herman spent a quick three hours explaining and demonstrating many useful and interesting characteristics of wood. After his seminar, I decided to sell all my woodworking equipment and get a 3-D printer. Wood is…, well…, challenging. But I knew that.

As regular readers might expect, I scheduled some time to visit some local antiques dealers. I have been visiting Atlanta for years and have a few places I try to get to regularly. I haven’t been down this way since 2013 and had forgotten the name of one of my favorites. It is the shop I saw my first (and favorite) Kentucky/Tennessee sugar chest:

You never gorget your first.I didn't by it.  Just lusted after it in my heart. (an obscureGeorgia reference.)

You never forget your first. I didn’t buy it. Just lusted after it in my heart. (An obscure Georgia reference.)

It’s also where I found this unusual (first in my collection) dovetailed box:

Every vertical joint is dovetailed.

I bought it.

Every vertical joint is dovetailed. Outside corners are full blind dovetails. Inside corners are normal(?) dovetails. See more pictures HERE.

I couldn’t remember the name of the shop. I knew roughly where it was and was depending on the geotagged iPhone pictures to find it. I found one of the pictures and examined the location information to find it on a map. I then switched over to a satellite view to confirm the location. What I saw was not good:

Construction. Never a good sign.

Construction. Never a good sign.

Seems the Historic Roswell Antique Market is becoming/has become Fulton County’s newest elementary school. I needed to find a new place to explore.  I am always up to the task. A new place means new inventory, so to speak. Believe it or not, most antiques shops do not have 100% inventory turnover.

I spent some time with Google and Yelp and located a likely place way up in Alpharetta. Traffic in the Atlanta area weekdays doesn’t move easily so it took a while to get there. It didn’t have the same quality of inventory as the Roswell store but it is still open.

I found this familiar looking piece right away:

Displaced and awaiting it rightful return to a tastefully arranged stack of  Architectural Digests.

Displaced and awaiting it rightful return to a tastefully arranged stack of Architectural Digests.

Most interesting was this set of Windsor chair variants:

They come in green.

They come in green.

And black.

And black.

Aside for the unique form, what makes them interesting is that they are metal. Legs, arms and spindles are hollow. Seat seems to be 14 to 16 gauge steel.

I didn’t think much about them being painted. This mall had lots of painted furniture. A shabby chic nirvana of sorts. There were two dealers selling different brands of pastel chalk paints.

I will examine more of the mall’s selection in upcoming blogs.