I first introduced y’all to the blasting caps box in What Followed Me Home:

The first image I published.

The first image I published.

The I celebrated when I found its long lost twin (sibling, at least) on eBay in Almost the Same:

Then there were two,

Then there were two.

Now, I found the big brother, once again on eBay:

It's bigger.

It’s bigger.

How big is it?

Lots.

Big. 21″ by 9.5″ by 10″.

Same construction:

Same idea, different size.

Same idea, different size.

Familiar back view:

This box has a waxy coating.

This box has a waxy coating.

Even the handle is the same:

Same over-cut dovetailed groves.

Same over-cut dovetailed groves.

This one has writing on the side:

You can learn a lot by reading. Assuming you can read.

You can learn a lot by reading. Assuming you can read.

The box was made by the J. V. Hammond Company of Spangler, PA. after 1963. We all know that Zip Codes were launched July 1, 1963 as lynch pin of the Zone Improvement Plan Code. And it was approved by the Pennsylvania Department of Mines.

I found this similar box in Winston Salem, NC:

It's not the same.

It’s not the same.

It’s plywood, nailed together with no sliding door.

Next:

Why the groves.

Why the slots?