As soon as I walked into the auction house, I knew it wasn’t one of their catalog auctions. The junior auctioneer was wearing a pink sports coat. The coat might have been salmon 2, light coral or blush. The hall has several different light sources mixed in an arbitrary fashion. Without knowing the CRI (Color Rendering Index), it’s hard to be sure what the color actually was.

But I digress…

And not for the first time!

I only mention this because that for the major/catalog sales, he wears a dark suit. That, and there was no catalog. The next catalog auction is June 18th. I’ll be there.

That doesn’t mean that there weren’t good things there, just less of them. Just more less fabulous things. Possibly things that haven’t sold last time out. And for the first time I can remember, box lots.

One of the interesting pieces was what they called an antique continental diminutive blanket chest:

I can believe it is antique and a blanket chest. Definitely diminutive. Continental, I don't know.

I can believe it is antique and a blanket chest. Definitely diminutive. Continental, I don’t know.

Great lock:

No mention of a key.

No mention of a key.

The hinges have been replaced:

But not recently.

But not recently.

At some point, it was lined with newspaper:

Early recycling?

Early recycling?

The wood has moved a bit over the years:

Hard to keep a good board flat.

Hard to keep a good board flat.

And it’s old enough to be pegged:

Not nailed, pegged. With wooden pegs.

Not nailed, pegged. With wooden pegs.

More on this auction tomorrow.