I’m down to only 10-12 thousand unposted furniture pictures so I have to get as many posts as I can from what few events I have left. This is the second post from an auction last week. There will be more.

If you’ve been reading for a while, you might have noticed I have a fondness for hidden and secret compartments. I approach any desk thinking there must be one (or more) yet to be found. Not every desk has one but more than you think do.

I saw this Sheraton Cherry Schoolmaster’s Desk (their description):

Sheraton? Well, they are professionals.

Sheraton? Well, they are professionals.

Lift the lid to see the gallery:

Five drawers and a few suspicious spaces.

Five drawers and a few suspicious spaces.

Why is there a blank space under the outer drawers?

There is a drawer and a blank space beneath.

There is a drawer and a blank space beneath.

Remove the drawer to see what you can see:

A large open space with groves up either side of the frame.

A large open space with groves up either side of the frame.

An open space, groves and a panel means something must move:

The panel slides up revealing more storage.

The panel slides up revealing more storage.

The three center drawers wouldn’t open. They can open, I just couldn’t find the release mechanism. I even unscrewed a loose screw from the top. I grew frustrated and moved on.

I came across the English Campaign Style Desk Top Secretary:

A smaller version of one I have. (Humble brag.)

A smaller version of one I have. (Humble brag alert.)

A rather simple interior arrangement:

No calendar and fewer slots than most. There is a drawer low on the front.

No calendar and fewer slots than most. There is a drawer low on the front. Holding hardware on the doors is missing.

This is mine or at least one of them.

Mine has more stuff.

Mine is bigger has more stuff.

I noticed something interesting about the hinges on the left door:

There are three large hinges and one hinge made from two smaller hinges.

There are three large hinges and one hinge made from two smaller hinges on the upper left. Somebody forgot to order enough large hinges?

There was one thing missing. Most all boxes like this and writing slopes have storage or a release mechanism under the pen tray like this:

Storage under the pen tray. Often there is a release mechanism for another hidden compartment.

Storage under the pen tray. Often there is a release mechanism for another hidden compartment.

I couldn’t find this one either an moved on, again.

All was well until I came to the French/Chinoiserie corner:

This stopped me.

This stopped me.

I lost the will to go on. I’m not sure why but I was just drained of energy and in deep despair. I walked away a defeated man.

The change in scenery helped. Slowly my energy and will to live came back.

I sought out the Sheraton desk for a second try at opening the three drawers. I looked and felt everywhere. Then I found a hole under the lower drawer. I inserted a finger into the hole and pushed. Success. The drawer came out. There was a wood spring on the bottom the drawer that I had released:

The spring beneath the drawer.

The spring beneath the drawer.

And the slot and hole in the dust panel under the drawer:

That's how it works!

That’s how it works!

And the other drawers as well:

The same system for all three drawers although only two are shown.

The same system for all three drawers although only two are shown.

Flush from my success, I went back to the desk top secretary to see if I could find the secret compartment. I pushed and pulled gently for a while. Finally the secretary yielded it’s secret:

The secret was that there was no secret compartment just a glue failure.

The secret was that there was no secret compartment. Just a glue failure.

Live and learn.