One of the more curios things I saw at the big antiques market in Atlanta was claimed to be foreign. The dealer what owned it says that previous dealer alleged it was from Brazil.  Antiques dealer being inherently honest, I believe it. Or I don’t know enough to disbelieve it.

This is the desk:

A painted slant front desk for the south.

A painted slant front desk from Brazil?

I don’t know what Brazilian furniture should look like or if there is a particular look and feel to Brazilian furniture. I assume there are differences based on region and era. Is it derived from Portuguese or other European influences? What were the influences from the indigenous peoples?

The gallery looks almost exactly like this:

Not too much going on in there.

Not too much going on in there. A very simple layout.

Construction is quite heavy with thick drawer sides:

Bead board drawer bottoms.

Bead board drawer bottoms.

Hardware is primitive and blocky:

Paint is were worn.

Paint is were worn.

Lock has a unique keyway:

The key must be curved.

The key must be curved.

Pintle hinge on the slant front with a very different square loper:

Again, notice the paint wear.

Again, notice the paint wear.

I am not sure if this is an authentic piece of vintage Brazilian furniture. Spending time searching online images was not that fruitful. I didn’t see much out there that looked like it. It reminds me of the type of furniture you can find at rustic resorts or vacation homes.

Then again, there has to be the original on which that furniture is based.