Looking through my Santa Fe antiques pictures, I found a few pieces that looked familiar. Like this large chest:

IMG_8219

Large, green and dovetailed.

Which I think is similar to this one I found in Winston-Salem, NC:

IMG_4666

This one has an extra axle.

Wheel details are different, though:

IMG_8222

Flowery wheels.

IMG_4669

A bit mundane by comparison.

I saw this piece:

IMG_8404

A tall, sophisticated chest.

and just knew when examined, I would find this:

IMG_8414

Extended rear dovetails.

Although Chuck Bender says he saw this detail on an American piece at Winterthur, I’ve only seen this on French pieces. This chest is labeled as being from Belgium. Can be almost French if it’s from Wallonia.

The novel is this dovetailed, wooden attaché case:

IMG_8375

Wood with brass hardware.

IMG_8376

Spacious interior with none of those pesky dividers.

I found the useful while looking at this pair of large drop leaf tables:

IMG_8510

Unusual to find a matching pair of drop leaf tables.

Then I noticed this odd appendage on one of the tables:

IMG_8511

Not anything I’ve seen before.

Here’s another view:

IMG_8512

Poor grain match. Must be used with a tablecloth, I suppose.

This device is a bridge of sorts for seamlessly joining the two drop leaf tables.

IMG_8525

Serious locking hardware.

Something actually useful if you have two large drop leaf tables and need to entertain vast numbers of the right kind of people.