A while back in A Different Hinge You Won’t Use I wrote about the ring/loop hinge that I found on three different munitions cases. As is typical, I had never seen these hinges until I came across three of them in a relatively short period of time. Over two days I found three more examples in Asheville, NC  this time all food related. Two in one shop. I wouldn’t usually write about more of the same if it weren’t for the fact there were more unique feature.

First is this red crate labeled RICE:

IMG_9334

See, it says “RICE”.

Somewhat crudely made:

IMG_9336

Not Thos. Moser.

And the hinge:

IMG_9339

From the outside.

IMG_9341

And inside.

What I found unique was the latch:

IMG_9347

A wire latch.

IMG_9343

This is on the lid.

IMG_9344

And inset on the carcass.

What is driving me crazy is that I know I have used a latch just like this. I have the sense memory of using it and recall how often you can release one side while the other hangs.

Across the shop, I found a crate used for transporting water bottles for Buck National Beverage:

IMG_9357

Is there a legal definition of promptly?

IMG_9362

A familiar looking hinge.

And another wire latch:

IMG_9358

Only one wire in this latch.

IMG_9359

On the carcass.

The inside of the crate is not well finished. I was having trouble trying to get a picture of the printing therein because of the texture.

IMG_9367

Can’t quite read due to the texture.

A flash helps.

IMG_9368

It’s Goodwillie. D. M. Goodwillie. Of the Chicago t777

Another rare item is this handle:

IMG_9370

A nail on handle insert.

The function of the backing plate is unknown unless it is to keep fingers from being  smashed by freely moving bottles. Or to keep the box sealed against our little insect or rodent friends.

IMG_9369

A safer handle?

While poking about, I found an auction listing showing a similar box claiming the box was from 1919. I also found an obituary in the July 17th, 1934 Chicago Tribune for a Douglas Monroe Goodwillie, 38, who died suddenly of heart disease.

The next day I found this newer box at another shop in Asheville:

IMG_9478

A newer, bright shiny box. Joinery seems to be nailing strips at the corners.

This box looks more like a promotional item than a shipping container.

IMG_9479

Bright, shiny familiar hinges. Made by Hager, a maker of many types of hinges.

 

IMG_9482

Ring/loop hinge looks the same except for the shine.

And, finally, a bonus box not used for edibles:

IMG_9505

Another box with nailed-on joinery.

IMG_9507

Nail-on, fastener-free hinge.

This box also seems to be more promotional than functional.

IMG_9508

From our favorite multinational consumer products company.

Now that I’ve beaten this topic to death, we move on.