In furniture, a married piece is one that is made up of two or more sections that did not begin life together but are joined for now. A book shelf added to a desk to make a secretary for instance. Sometimes it’s done for profit, to make new “valuable” antique out of spare parts. Other times it might be that people are just trying to salvage something useful out of parts we might have sent to the dump. People don’t always have the luxury of buying new.

That’s what I think happened with this piece. I saw it at an auction last week. I don’t think it came like this from the factory.

IMG_0102

Not seen another like it.

Looks just as odd from the side:

IMG_0124

The question remains, why?

Maybe we cam learn something from the back:

IMG_0126

Maybe, we can’t.

Backboards are all the same with and age:

IMG_0145

But they are all repurposed.

I particularly like this patch:

IMG_0146

Well disguised. I can hardly see it.

Interesting that a piece like this has a mitered joint with a through tenon in the upper molding:

IMG_0148

Adventures in pumpkin pine.

A look at the top doesn’t tell you much either:

IMG_0149

Only the finest wood used here.

This cupboard is odd enough that I went back a second day for another look. I didn’t learn much from my second view. The quality of the wood is different between the two halves. Different finishes with a different level of preparation.

It’s just a really odd piece in a world full of odd pieces.

There were a few other things of interest at the auction. This dresser, for instance:

IMG_0130

Flat screen and DVD player not original to the piece

Two interesting things looking at the dovetailed drawer:

IMG_0128

Interesting how close to the rounded surface the tail is cut.The nails are a nice touch.

If I understood this carved cabinet, I might have bid on it:

IMG_0160

Other than it looks old, I don’t get it. And I don’t own it.

To see the highlights of the auction, click HERE.

There is a this leather rocking chair you have to see…