So, this blogger walks into an antique shop…

It really happened. Last weekend I walked into a shop and found chests that support both sides of the long axis/short axis backboard debate. Fortunately, they were both interesting chest in their own right and I’m not boring you for nothing.

First up is this fancy former tool chest:

img_0441

I doubt the finish is original.

Dovetailed with skirt and dust seal.

img_0442

Really unique handle.

Decorated lid:

img_0443

A work of art unto itself.

And what you’ve all been waiting for:

img_0445

Boards – Front to back.

Evidence that there once was more:

img_0444

Missing are the tills, totes and trays.

img_0446

I thought it deserved a closer look. I already had the picture.

The other chest is a more humble affair. I mean really humble, almost homely:

img_0494

The brown thing in the back.

img_0479

The molding has survived.

Also dovetailed:

img_0481

Enthusiastic dovetailer but needs a bit of help on the glue up.

And the bottom:

img_0465

A single board but running side to side. The till is on the right which is not typical but not rare.

And the till has a secret:

img_0470

If you have been following me for over a month, you saw this one coming. Front of the till slides up revealing a drawer.

I liked the plinth. As them furniture writers might say, it has a certain naive, primitive quality:

img_0484

Dovetailed with the same layout as the carcass. A bit rough but it works.

img_0477

With a few expert repairs.