There are several levels of auctions in my area. This is about one of the ones that I classify as moving stuff from one basement to the next. Mostly ordinary stuff that one typically finds at thrift shops or flea markets. Still, I check out the pictures on Auction Zip on the chance that something interesting shows up. It happens.

One day I saw a clock that looks like it could be an Arts and Crafts era artifact. It had a familiar shape and reminded me of the Voysey mantel clock that Robert Lang built for the August, 2013 issue of Popular Woodworking.

img_6299

An original Voysey from the Virginia Museum of Fine Art in Richmond.

Closer to being in the spirit not the execution. It was tapered and had a copper face with clock hands. I went to the preview and realized I was not going to be taking their clock home. Firstly, the thing was metal:

img_0019

A bit crudely made.

Metal would necessarily be a disqualifying issue but a quick look at the back showed me it was not old:

img_0020

Plastic clips, Phillips screws and plywood do not indicate historic practices.

img_0021

And the welds were really bad.

Having spent the time driving there, I felt the obligation to take a quick look to see if there might be anything of interest. There were a few things that were mildly interesting.There was this large and odd hall table:

img_0062

Vases available separately.

There was this French server/sideboard:

img_0060

To start with, it’s oak.

It is dovetailed and has that unique French lock the secures two drawers with a single lock mechanism, bolts head out in both directions from center:

img_0046

I will stop writing about this lock as soon as you guys give me the proper name and/or a source for this lock.

And these back drawer dovetails I have only seen in French furniture:

img_0049

An odd way to make a drawer. Odd but not rare.

And finally, unique pulls:

img_0042

Looks French to me.

The only other interesting piece was the rather large monstrosity:

img_0023

Big sucker, ain’t it?

Dovetailed drawers:

img_0028

Surprisingly thin pins. The curved drawer front looks applied.

A very unique door panel:

img_0033

End grain veneer door panel.

And a little bit of unique hardware:

img_0032

Ring pull or drop pendant?

img_0029

They don’t brass plate like they used to, thank heaven.

Nothing outstanding but I had to look.