Woodworking is where you find it.

Over the next few blogs I will present the balance of my pictures from the Barcelona Museum of Design (Museu del Disseny de Barcelona). We were there in early November of last year. Perfect timing to avoid the election. (Who won? My wife still won’t tell me.)

I have already shared some pictures in a previous blog, Mules of Another Autonomous Region, a collection of eight slightly (extremely) over the top mule chests from the Catalan region of Spain. There is a history lesson back there too if you have yet to read it.

This blog is a quick one to highlight some pictures that don’t fit into other categories or topics of discussion.

I’m sure that most people realize the shape and volume 19th century dresses did not come entirely from petticoats and starch. But did you ever stop to consider what did the work. This did:

dsc_3971

The cage crinoline. A multidisciplinary endeavor.

And this one:

dsc_3970

Pardon the background images. I am embarrassed but it couldn’t be helped.

The hoops were typically steel but whalebone and various forms of vulcanized rubber were also used. These hoops looked to me to be wood but short of climbing the cases, I couldn’t be certain. I just need them to be wood for the purposes of this blog.

Regardless of the material, I wouldn’t want to wear one. There were many health ramifications to such garments including being burned alive when the well-aerated fabric caught fire.

There was also an exhibit of 18th and 19th decorative fans:

dsc_3945

Again, maybe be wood but being made from whale bone is not out of the question

An interesting Wikipedia article about crinolines HERE.

Next, beds of Catalonia. And it’s not what you think.