I go to all these auctions so you don’t have to. As our fearless leader says, “Believe me”. It’s not always enjoyable but it is necessary. I do what must be done.

Take an auction from the fourth quarter of 2016. The weather was miserable and I didn’t want to go. But I knew I must. And how was I rewarded? I walked in and this is the first thing I saw:

IMG_3767

I thought things like this were always converted into lamps.

An end view provides you with important construction details should you want to make one of your own:

IMG_3768

It looks just as good from this perspective.

I did see one of the nicest gout stools I’ve seen in a while:

IMG_3770

Enough to make you want to go out and eat high purine meats and drink excessive amounts of alcohol

I will be saving the examination of this book for a time in the future when I will compare it to the original 1917 volume as to form and content:

IMG_3781

There just isn’t enough written on the romance of cookery and housekeeping.