Given the right tools, expert instruction and hours of practice I believe I stand a good chance of becoming a mediocre carver. It’s something to which I aspire. Eventually. Aim for the stars…

I was watching the famous and talented Mary May do another carving demonstration today. Not for the first time and not, I hope, for the last. We are at a furniture seminar at MESDA (Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts) in Winston Salem, NC.

I have a special relationship with MESDA, I give them money and they let me into the museum. I give them more money and they let me come to seminars. With food. All very civilized.

Knowing that it will be a while before I create my own most excellent carvings, I choose to honor them with the only way I know, take pictures and share skilled people’s work.

This is a set of pictures of carved shells and shell-like objects I have dcoumented between January of 2016 and now.

Shell-like carved objects come in a wide range of shapes, sizes and styles. There is:

IMG_2532

The realistic.

IMG_3794

The abstract.

IMG_7052

Ones that just suggest the form.

IMG_2462

Innies (Concave)

IMG_2460

Outies (Convex) Usually applied.

DSC_2548

Overhead shells.

DSC_4998

And shells on which you sit.

You can see the entire flickr set HERE.