From time to time, the views for this blog spike. I would like to think that the brilliance of my writing has finally been discovered by the masses. Then I examine the stats and realize that one of the cool kids with the popular blogs has thrown me a mercy link. As expected, my numbers return to normal within a few days. My brilliance has not swayed them. They abandon me.

I’m OK with this. I have my 47 loyal followers/readers. If you include my family and friends I have 42. (It doesn’t make sense to either but I’ve checked the math. Numbers still don’t lie.) I’m OK with this in that if I had thousands of followers I might feel the pressure to write informed and well-reasoned blogs instead whatever it is I’m writing now.

In this case, it seems to be John Hoffman’s partner, Chris Schwarz of Lost Art Press, etc. what threw me link. I’ve known him for years (You can check out our history HERE.)  He doesn’t owe me anything. He’s really just that nice.

I have seen a few minor spikes that come from one Rude Mechanic on Instagram. Odd name.

Defying conventional thinking, I will just write a normal blog and not try some stunt blog to try to snag new readers. Eventually you would just be disappointed and leave.

In the referring blog, mention was made of settles. According to the wildly popular Wikipedia: A settle is a wooden bench, usually with arms and a high back, long enough to accommodate three or four sitters. I don’t always agree with them but in this case I think they are right enough.

I have photographed enough settles to know that there doesn’t seem to be any one predominant type of settle.

There are some really formal ones:

IMG_8827

Fancy settle with storage.

A settle for loners and thinkers.

IMG_9561

Room for one settler, maybe two. No more.

Settles that followed my wife home.

DSC_6045

Front view. It makes a great sail on the porch.

IMG_5017

The front is well made but

IMG_5020

the back is fascinating. Or is this the front?

Click HERE to see album

And do come back.

Please?