This chair really gets around. As seen at a recent, local auction:

A Set of Chinese Huanghuali Folding Horseshoe Chairs and Table

DSC_5912

The right chair. This lot has sold for $21,000.

DSC_5913

And the left chair.

Description:   Late 20th century, very finely crafted set in the Ming dynasty style, made with huanghuali wood and brass mountings, round top rail continuing in a curve to the arms terminating in out swept ends, each arm supported by the hooked upper extension of the front leg suspending a long shaped spandrel, the back carved splat with qilin and clouds, a soft mat seat with a front stretcher, the hinged round section legs terminating in rectangular base stretchers, the footrest mounted with a central brass plaque of three conjoined lozenges, raised on a shaped apron and small feet, with brass strap fittings and joint pins, includes a folding side table in the same style, a very handsome set.

Folded, it looks like this:

240139_16A

Smaller but not what I would call small.

The chair looked vaguely familiar but Chinese furniture is not an area of primary interest of mine at this point in history. I took my pictures and moved on.

Looking back through the library, I found this chair in my pictures from the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art in Kansas City, MO:

IMG_7982

The chair with friends.

Close-up of the same:

IMG_7985

A finer weave on the seat than its auction cousin.

I am now slightly more interested.

I just received my copy of Christian Holmsted Olesen’s 2014 book, Wegner: Just one Good Chair. On page 123, I found:

IMG_4667

There it is again.

(Hans Jørgensen Wegner was a world-renowned Danish furniture designer as was Ole Wanscher.)

Looking for a copy of Ole Wanscher’s book Furniture Types, I found (and could afford) this book instead:

IMG_4668

More affordable than Furniture Types.

One page 247, I found this:

IMG_4672

Yet another example.

Apparently, this is an iconic chair and I didn’t know it.  Why didn’t anyone tell me?

It is interesting that this 18th century Chinese chair is an inspiration for Danish Modern furniture.

IMG_4625

I guess I can see a family resemblance.

And I’m not done looking at books.

I found a Danish copy of Furniture Types (Mobeltyper) that should be arriving shortly.

I just received my second copy of The Art of Furniture by Ole Wanscher. Seems I forgot to cancel one on Abe Books when I decided to go with the ex-library copy. I like ex-library copies in that they not only generally have a dust jacket but the dust jacket has a protective mylar sleeve.

It is fortunate that the second copy was only $15. Anybody out there interested in my spare?