Back in June I found this modified plantation desk at an antiques shop in Winston Salem, NC:

IMG_9619

A plantation desk, another flexible term with many definitions and no real meanings.

It had been modified to change the angle of the writing surface:

IMG_9621

Tapered pieces added to the sides to change the pitch of the writing surface.

This piece was covered in Less Than Fancy Furniture.

We were in Hermann, MO over the weekend for a wedding. We arrived Friday night and the wedding wasn’t until 3:00 PM on Saturday leaving some time for research. Our plane left at 7:15 PM on Sunday leaving more time for research. I am a very diligent researcher. In a shop in Warrenton, I came across this desk:

IMG_0470

Another desk with a history.

This desk has also been modified to change the lid angle:

IMG_0472

Same idea but not as severe since the original angle was not as severe..

Looking inside leads me to believe that they might have replaced the front legs as well.

IMG_0475

Front legs are too tall to be original.

This desk is has a gallery rail and locking storage box affixed to the top:

IMG_0476

The swan is not attached.

The tag gives one possible history of this desk:

IMG_0477

Ir that’s what the dealer says, it must be true.

I am now looking for a third one and I won’t stop until I find it.

And not even then.