Your are going to be disappointed to learn this post is about furniture making and not woodworking. They aren’t always the same activity. I haven’t come up with a new subtractive furniture making technique using flame.

What the title refers to is furniture I have found that looks like wood but is actually metal. First I found some chairs in Alpharetta, GA. a few years back:

IMG_5512

The metal Windsor chairs.

IMG_5516

Metal wood furniture comes in black, too.

Next, I found this kitchen rack at a local antiques multi-dealer shop:

IMG_1969

Made from that special magnetic wood.

Tuesday, I found two more pieces over in Raleigh:

IMG_0749

A fan back chair not in wood.

And finally, this desk:

IMG_0765

Does one need a lathe to turn metal spindles?

You can tell it’s metal by looking at a drawer side:

IMG_0766

No dovetails!