I was making a rare visit to a local antiques mall recently when I came across a small desk similar to one I had seen and written about in November of 2015, (See Convertibles.)

The dealer called it a traveling desk:

IMG_9559

I’m not sure where it traveled to.

The novel feature is that this desk like the previous one, opens to reveal the gallery hidden within:

IMG_9561

Ink holders lead me to believe this is not of current manufacture.

IMG_9550

A different view showing from where the gallery comes.

IMG_9552

The gallery is extracted by two brass brackets attached to the lid.

This might be one of those times I disagree with the dealer. I don’t think it is a traveling desk. Among other things, the legs don’t fold are a bit on the delicate side to travel much.

I looked at the previous blog and realized it is the same desk. It had disappeared or been buried under other inventory for the past two years only to reappear and taunt me.

One new discovery made using the same technology is this bar unit:

IMG_9745

A nice compact chest.

And it opens to reveal:

IMG_9746

Glasses and liquor. What else?

While we are looking at recycled idea, I found this side locked piece that might properly be called side latching.

IMG_9970

A nice tall piece with a familiar look.

The side doesn’t really lock having only a ball catch and no lock.

IMG_9967

A different configuration with a desk up top and drawers below.

Not that old. Phillips screws on the hinges. This desk was definely made after 1936.