I had been struggling for a week with what might turn out to be one of my more interesting blogs. Then I read a new blog from an unusually perceptive blogger that, while not changing the premise of my post, is causing me to rethink the presentation.

I’m going to move on and revisit it when I get a clue,

In the interim, I thought I would share some recent pictures of variations on familiar topics. First, sidelock chests.

I met this handsome Eastlake version at an under-tent antiques fair in Abingdon, VA:

IMG_1231

Here’s a form you don’t see every day.

IMG_1235

The drawer screams 1890’s.

IMG_1241

But is just another sidelock chest with more interesting hardware.

This is another small sidelock with a different execution:

IMG_2117

A desktop version.

Here the locking wings are restrained by the bottom drawer and not individual locks:

IMG_2118

Not the way it’s usually been done.

IMG_2119

Different but it works.

It’s been a while since I featured a gout rocker. I now present two.

First is this conventional one that can hold two undesirable things:

IMG_1410

A gout afflicted foot or back issues of National Geographic.

Then there is this fairly modern yet ugly version has no redeeming features:

IMG_1642

Made from plywood and non-coordinating fabric,

Lastly, the torrent of Hitchcock chairs continues:

IMG_2132

Another Ethan Allen Hitchcock.

IMG_2131

Says so on the back.

IMG_1503

An undecorated chair.

IMG_1506

From High Point Bending & Chair Co.

IMG_1408

A rocker in a color seldom seen with uncertain ancestory.

IMG_1248

Undecorated with parts reordered.

IMG_1254

Still not sure who makes it.

And even two authentic ones:

IMG_1509

Green with an eagle.

IMG_1508

The backwards N’s mean something. I just can’t remember what.

IMG_1533

Black with a flower motif.

IMG_1538

More backwards N’s. I believe this is the mark of the last release.