I was talking to Peter Follansbee about life, woodworking and this blog when he asked my why I didn’t take pictures of anything really old? My threshold for old is pre-McKinley (1900) while Mr. Follansbee’s is 16th century. The obvious answer is that the places I have access to don’t often have anything old. The number of Empire chests-of-drawers far exceeds the number of jointed English stools in the retail/auction market.

To address Mr. Follansbee’s concerns, I offer here two dealer-confirmed old pieces. I completely trust antiques dealers. What possible incentive would they have to lie or deceive?

Is it a cupboard if it was built before cups were invented? Could it be a jelly if all they had was preserves? It’s that old:

IMG_2482

It’s a really old cabinet of some sort.

IMG_2486

They told me that the door is as old as the rest of the cabinet.

IMG_2484

Hand forged pintle hinges.

IMG_2487

Even the drop pull is hand forged.

Equally old or even older is this chest:

IMG_3023

More frame and panel construction. They didn’t have wide boards back then.

IMG_3024

A coopered domed lid with a hand hewn rib.

IMG_3025

A primitive hinge notched for leg clearance.

IMG_3028

This lock (interior view)

IMG_3026

is held on with clinched nails.

IMG_3029

Looking at the end, somebody really liked their beading plane. Note the through tenons on the legs.