The Wooton Rotary Desk was from a large catalog auction from December of 2013. I’ve been avoiding this auction because I took pictures over two visits and shot out of sequence due to the sizable crowds at the previews. As time passed, it got harder to remember what went with which and who’s on first. I finally just screwed up my courage and I think I have it mostly sorted out. And if I’m wrong, who’s to know?

There were lots of unique pieces at this auction. I thought I would share three items that I found particularly interesting. We will start with near normal and go on from there.

This first one is a dresser with a door:

There is a door between the drawers.

There is a door between the drawers.

And behind the door is drawers.

And behind the door is drawers.

The drawers are deeply recessed leading me to wonder is these drawers were a “secret compartment” and there had been a removable drawer unit in front of it.

We will never know…

Next up is a server. A server with two horizontal tambour doors.

Two tambour covered compartments. Or are they?

Two tambour covered compartments. Or are they?

The right compartment is for bottle storage.

A cellarette.

A cellarette.

But the left compartment is really a drawer and the tambour is fixed.

Not a cellarette.

Not a cellarette.

Brass capitals on the fluted columns:

Plinth is brass, too. Trust me.

Plinth is brass, too. Trust me.

And it has funky feet.

Lion and acanthus foot?

Lion and acanthus foot?

And lastly is this large press. I don’t know who made it but I hope they had fun.

Meet the press.

Meet the press. Just a little fancy, no?

Starting at the top:

Ornaments and an ionic capital.

Ornaments and a Corinthian capital.

Interesting stuff in the middle.

Interesting stuff in the middle.

And another unique foot:

Furry ball and crawl foot.

Furry ball and crawl foot.

There will be more from this auction in upcoming days. Gotta work through back inventory